Chris Moneymaker among Hall of Fame nominees

World Series of Poker has announced the list of ten nominees for the 2016 Poker Hall of Fame.

A total of three new candidates were named: Todd Brunson, Eli Elezra and Chris Moneymaker, who is often referred as the man who started the poker boom after famously winning the 2003 WSOP Main Event.

In addition, six of last year’s finalists return - Chris Bjorin, Bruno Fitoussi, Carlos Mortensen, Max Pescatori, Matt Savage and the late David Ulliott - and one previous nominee - Humberto Brenes.

A player must meet several criteria to become an eligible nominee. For example, 39-year-old Phil Ivey, who is often referred as the best player in the world is not among the nominees this year. We can expect Ivey to be nominated next year, as one of the criteria is to be a minimum of 40 years old at the time of nomination:

  • A player must have played poker against acknowledged top competition
  • Be a minimum of 40 years old at time of nomination
  • Played for high stakes
  • Played consistently well, gaining the respect of peers
  • Stood the test of time
  • Or, for non-players, contributed to the overall growth and success of the game of poker, with indelible positive and lasting results.

According to, the 2016 Class of the Poker Hall of Fame will be inducted as part of the World Series of Poker Main Event final table festivities in Las Vegas on October 26 in the famed Longhorn Room at Binion’s in downtown.


Other Poker news

Leave a Reply

To post comments you need to Login or register your free HighstakesDB account.


No comments have been posted yet.