Sylvain Loosli wins EPT Barcelona Super High Roller for €1.2M

Another 2nd place SHR finish for Urbanovich in the space of four months – he also came second in last season’s Monte Carlo edition

Slyvian Loosli – a name you may recall from the 2013 World Series of Poker Main Event November Nine line up – has won the record breaking Super High Roller event at this year’s European Poker Tour (EPT) Barcelona stop for a massive €1,224,000 pay day.

The Frenchman navigated an extremely tough field of 99 runners – the highest attendance ever for a €50,000 buy-in event at the EPT – and then survived a final table featuring the likes of Christoph "Tight-Man1" Vogelsang, JC Alverado and Steve O’Dwyer to earn his first major title.

It feels different to the Main Event, which was amazing”, Loosli – who now has over $4.5 million in live tournament earnings – told the PokerStars blog. “But this is a win and you play poker to win tournaments and titles.”

Heads-up may have actually been the toughest obstacle of all for Loosli, who had once been down to just 4 big blinds in the tournament, but a check raise bluff shove on the river in a massive hand near the climax proved the difference in a tight match with the inform Dzmitry Urbanovich.

“In the heads-up match I check-raised all-in on the river against Dzmitry and turned my hand into a bluff. I might’ve had the best hand, I’m not sure. But I feel like I was representing a strong hand and decided to put my tournament life on the line at that point.”

 “It’s been a rollercoaster. The final table was filled with great players. You had to fight to win every single pot. It was so tough and I had to play my best.”

Urbanovich, who has an amazing 17 final table runs to his name in EPT events and famously won four tournaments in a single Malta stop earlier this year, fell agonisingly short of Super High Roller glory for the second time in under four months.

He did however add €841,500 to his career earnings tally – which now stands at over $3.7 million in two years of tournaments - and stretch his lead over PCA champ Dominik Panka in Poland’s all-time money list to over $1.4 million.

Here’s a look at the final table payouts:

  1. Sylvain Loosli (France) - €1,224,000
  2. Dzmitry Urbanovich (Poland) €841,500
  3. Christoph Vogelsang (Germany) €551,485
  4. JC Alvarado (Mexico) €446,800
  5. Michael Egan (Australia) €358,900
  6. Ivan Luca (Argentina) €280,500
  7. Steve O'Dwyer (Ireland) €221,000
  8. Paul Newey (United Kingdom) €168,700


Other Poker news

Leave a Reply

To post comments you need to Login or register your free HighstakesDB account.


No comments have been posted yet.