WSOP 2014 Final Table Now Set - Jorryt van Hoof Leads

Jorryt van Hoof
Mark Newhouse

After several long days of play at the Rio a final table has now been formed from the 6,683 players who originally sat down to play this tournament. Day 7 started with 27 players and by the end of it another 18 players had experienced the pain of busting from the main event.

Unfortunately for Bryan Devonshire he was one of the first to depart, losing a race against Max Senft with  {10-Diamonds}{10-Clubs} versus {A-Diamonds}{J-Diamonds} for a 25th place finish when an ace fell on the flop. It was a race situation that also saw off Dan Smith a little later, getting it all in pre-flop with {a-Spades}{k-Spades} against Jorryt van Hoof's {4-Spades}{4-Hearts} for a big pot. There was no help for Smith and his main event ended in a 20th place finish for $286,900.

That was just the start for van Hoof and he went on a rush, busting Andrey Zaichenko’s aces with a flopped straight to eliminate him in 17th, then taking out Eddy Sabat in 16th with flush over flush. Oscar Kemps added to the van Hoof stack by open shoving 16 BBs from the cutoff with {K-Hearts}{j-Clubs} and losing to the Dutchman's {A-Clubs}{A-Hearts}, giving van Hoof a clear chip lead at the top with the final table approaching.

The final elimination needed to determine our November Nine came when Luis Velador got the last of his chips in with {4-Diamonds}{4-Hearts} against {5-Hearts}{5-Spades} and lost, but the biggest news was who he actually lost to - Mark Newhouse. With that hand Newhouse confirmed back to back final tables in the main event which is an absolutely huge achievement given the size of the field these days. Dan Harrington was the last player to do this but there were only 839 entries when he finished third in 2003. What Newhouse has done here has taken things to a new level, and he’s in a better position to win it outright than he was in 2013.

Final table stacks are as follows:

1 Jorryt van Hoof Netherlands 38,375,000
2 Felix Stephensen Norway 32,775,000
3 Mark Newhouse USA 26,000,000
4 Andoni Larrabe Spain 22,550,000
5 Dan Sindelar USA 21,200,000
6 William Pappaconstantinou    USA 17,500,000
7 William Tonking USA 15,050,000
8 Martin Jacobson Sweden 14,900,000

So for now it’s time to pack things away and take a break for a while, but things will be getting very serious again in a few months’ time when these nine players return to play for a $10,000,000 top prize.


Other Poker news

Leave a Reply

To post comments you need to Login or register your free HighstakesDB account.